Home » News » AK Names Marathon Teams For World Championships

AK Names Marathon Teams For World Championships

by Zablon Ondari
2 mins read

Athletics Kenya president Jackson Tuwei on Thursday, 7th April named the marathon teams that will represent the country in the upcoming World Athletics Championships and Commonwealth Games.

The World Athletics Championships will take place between 15th and 24th July in Eugene, Oregon, US, while the Commonwealth Games will take place from 28th July to 8th August in Birmingham, England.

World marathon champion Ruth Chepng’etich will lead Kenya’s marathon team for this year’s World Championships.

She will be joined in the women’s team by Paris Marathon champion Judith Jeptum, Geneva Marathon champion Maureen Chepkemoi and Amsterdam Marathon winner Angela Tanui.

The men’s team has Valencia Marathon champion Lawrence Cherono, three-time World Half Marathon champion Geoffrey Kamworor and Barnabas Kiptum with former world champion Geoffrey Kirui joining as a reserve.

For the Commonwealth Games, the women’s team comprises 2020 Los Angeles Marathon winner, Margaret Wangari, Purity Changwony and Stella Barsosio with Viola Cheptoo going as a reserve.

The men’s team consists of 2021 Valencia Marathon Bronze winner Philemon Katherine, Eric Kiptanui and Jonathan Korir as Michael Githare joins in as a reserve.

The men’s team for the Games consists of; Philemon Kacheran, Eric Kiptanui, Jonathan Korir and Michael Githae.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More