Home » Football » Former Deputy CEO Joins Race to Topple Mwendwa From Top FKF Seat

Former Deputy CEO Joins Race to Topple Mwendwa From Top FKF Seat

by Zablon Ondari
2 mins read

Former Football Kenya Federation (FKF) deputy CEO Herbert Tawa Mwachiro has joined the race for the presidency, hoping to unseat Nick Mwendwa.

Mwachiro said in a press statement: “I hereby declare my candidature for the post of Football Kenya Federation president in the upcoming poll.

“My decision to run for the top football seat in the country is informed by the desire to transform the football industry into a sustainable sector that will put Kenya where it deserves to be on the continental and global football map.”

He said that the game was not being well packaged to attract sponsors, stating that if elected, he would create confidence in sponsors to ensure that players make a meaningful living from football .

His focus would, not only be on all tiers of club football, but also on youth, and grassroots development and women’s football.

“This vision will be achieved through commercial partnerships and support from the government that will ensure the smallest units (wards, constituencies and counties) contribute to football development,” he said.

If elected, he promised that he would make Kenya a regular participant in Africa’s elite competitions.

“Kenya deserves to be a regular competitor in the Africa Cup of Nations because we have talent in abundance in all corners of this country. My team will partner with all relevant football stakeholders to build strong leagues and solid structures that Kenyan football badly needs to move to the next level.”

In 2018, Mwachiro resigned as the FKF deputy chief executive officer just seven months into the job, citing “differences in opinions”.

He is currently the Kenya Private Sector Alliance (Kepsa) Sports, Arts and Culture board chairman.

Last week, immediate former Cecafa Secretary-General Nicholas Musonye announced his candidature, joining former FKF chairman Sam Nyamweya, former FKF vice-chair Twaha Mbarak, former Vihiga County Governor Moses Akaranga, former AFC Leopards chairman Alex Ole Magello, Gor Mahia FC Secretary General Omondi Aduda in the race for the big job.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More