Home » Business » Fuel Prices Remain Unchanged in Latest EPRA Review

Fuel Prices Remain Unchanged in Latest EPRA Review

by Zablon Ondari
2 mins read

The Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority (EPRA) has announced that the prices of petrol, diesel and kerosene will remain unchanged for one month.

Last month, the cost of super petrol had gone up by Ksh0.77, as those of diesel and kerosene remained the same as in April and May.

In a statement issued in Nairobi on Wednesday, 14th July, EPRA said the prices were inclusive of the eight per cent Value Added Tax (VAT) in line with the Finance Act 2018, the Tax Laws (Amendment) Act 2020 and the revised rates for excise duty adjusted for inflation as per Legal Notice No. 194 of 2020.

“The average landed cost of imported super petrol increased by 4.83 per cent from $496.10 per cubic metre in May 2021 to $520.04 per cubic metre in June 2021. Diesel increased by 3.69 per cent from $461.95 per cubic metre to $479.01 per cubic metre. In the period under review, no Kerosene vessel was discharged at the Port of Mombasa,” said EPRA.

The Free On Board (FOB) price of Murban crude oil lifted in June 2021 was posted at $63.35 per barrel, a decrease of 6.44 per cent from $67.71 per barrel in May 2021.

Over the same period, the mean monthly US dollar to Kenya shilling exchange rate depreciated by 0.20 per cent from Ksh107.61 per US dollar in May 2021 to Ksh107.82 per US dollar in June 2021.

As a result, a litre of super petrol, diesel, and kerosene in Nairobi will continue to retail at Ksh127.14, Ksh107.66 and Ksh97.85 per litre, respectively.

In Mombasa, super petrol will retail at Ksh124.72, diesel at Ksh105.27, and kerosene at Ksh95.46 per litre, while in Kisumu, a litre of super petrol will retail at Ksh127.67, diesel at Ksh108.46, and kerosene at Ksh98.68.

Motorists in Nakuru will pay Ksh126.75 for super petrol, Ksh107.55 for diesel and Ksh97.76 for kerosene per litre, while in Eldoret, motorists will pay Ksh127.67 for petrol, Ksh108.46 for diesel and Ksh98.68 for kerosene.

The prices announced will be in force from 15th July to 14th August.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More