Kahata Team Simba SC Crowned Tanzania League Champions For Third Consecutive Season

Harambee Stars midfielder Francis Kahata’s team, Simba Sports Club, are the 2019/2020 Tanzanian Vodacom Premier League champions.

Simba SC won their 21st league title after a goalless draw against Tanzania Prisons at Sokoine Stadium on Sunday, 28th June, having garnered 79 points after 32 league matches.

The team nicknamed “Wekundu wa Msimbazi” have now won the Tanzania Premier League for a third consecutive season since 2017, matching arch-rival Yanga’s victories between 2015 and 2017.

Young Africans finished second with 60 points, one ahead of third-placed Azam.

Read Also:  Uhuru Can't be Replaced in Mt Kenya Region, Irungu Kang'ata Warns

This is the first major trophy for Kahata, who joined Simba from Gor Mahia in June last year. The midfielder has now won four straight league titles: Three with Gor Mahia and one with Simba.

The title is also the first for Belgian coach Sven Vandenbroeck, who replaced his compatriot Patrick Aussems in December 2019.

With the win, the Tanzanian giants maintain their slot in the Caf Champions League competition. Vandenbroeck will be expected to perform better than his predecessor, who got knocked out in the preliminary stage by UD Songo of Mozambique in Dar es Salaam.

Do you have any fascinating, funny, intriguing, troubling or inspiring story that you would wish to share? Please email us at:

Read Also:  Two KBC Employees Test Positive For Covid-19
info@litkenya.com and we will publish it on Litkenya.com

Zablon Ondari

I am a journalist, who is passionate about writing articles. This interest carried me through the Kenya Institute of Mass Communication and now I am in the industry and this continues. I have some extensive experience in writing human interest stories, sports and politics. I am self-motivated but a team player. Find out more about me on Facebook, Instagram as Zablon Riro and on Twitter @RiroZablon. E-mail zablonriro@gmail.com