Home » News » Kariobangi Sharks Striker Kapaito Bags FKF Premier League MVP Award

Kariobangi Sharks Striker Kapaito Bags FKF Premier League MVP Award

by Zablon Ondari
2 mins read
20210915 094724

Kariobangi Sharks striker Erick Kapaito has been named the FKF Premier League Most Valuable Player award for the 2020/21 season.

The 25-year-old was crowned the winner during a colourful ceremony held at Safari Park Hotel in Nairobi on Tuesday night, 14th September.

Kapaito, who won the MVP award for the 2017-18 season, beat Sofapaka midfielder Lawrence Juma and AFC Leopards striker Elvis Rupia to the award.

He also scooped the Golden Boot Award after scoring a total of 24 goals for Sharks in the 2020/21 season.

“I was not expecting to win the MVP because I knew I was facing a stiff challenge from my opponents but I am happy to have secured it for the second time in the history of the league,” Kapaito told Goal after receiving his award.

“I want to dedicate the award to my teammates. Without them, I could not have achieved this. It is a great honour to take it home, and will strive to do even better next season.”

Kapaito took home a total of Ksh800,000 (Ksh500,000 for MVP and Ksh300,000 for category winner).

Sofapaka midfielder Lawrence Juma won the best midfielder award after beating Anthony Kimani of Nairobi City Stars.

Meanwhile, Ulinzi Stars goalkeeper James Saruni scooped the Golden Glove award after managing 12 clean sheets in the season. KCB’s goalie, Joseph Okothm and Nairobi City Stars’ Steve Njunge shared the runners-up award for keeping 11 clean sheets each.

Tusker FC captain Eugene Asike bagged the Defender of the Year Award after his solid performance that helped his side secure the FKF Premier League title.

The Young Player category was won by Tusker FC’s Henry Meja. He managed to score 10 goals and seven assists last season.

The Coach of the Year award was won by Robert Matano of Tusker FC, who beat Zedekiah Otieno of KCB and Casa Mbungo of Bandari FC.

2020-21 FKF Premier League Winners

Most Valuable Player

Erick Kapaito – Kariobangi Sharks

Golden Glove

James Saruni – Ulinzi Stars – Winner
Joseph Okoth – KCB FC – 1st Runners-up
Steve Njunge – Nairobi City Stars – 2nd Runners-up.

Defender of the Year

Eugene Asike – Tusker FC – Winner
David Kalama – Bidco United – 1st Runners-up
Nashon Alembi – KCB FC – 2nd Runners-up

Midfielder of the Year

Lawrence Juma – Sofapaka FC – Winner
Anthony Kimani – Nairobi City Star – 1st Runners-up,
Jackson Macharia – Tusker – 2nd Runners-up

Golden Boot

Erick Kapaito – Kariobangi Sharks

Young Player of the Year

Henry Meja – Tusker FC -Winner
Lawrence Luvanda – Vihiga United – 1st Runner-up
Sylvester Owino – Kakamega Homeboyz – 2nd Runners-up

Fair Play Team of the Year

Kariobangi Sharks – Winner
Tusker FC – 1st Runners-up
KCB FC – 2nd Runners-up

Coach of the Year

Robert Matano – Tusker FC – Winner
Zedekiah Otieno – KCB FC – 1st Runners-up
Andre Casa Mbungo – Bandari FC – 2nd Runners-up

Digital Team of the Year

Tusker FC – Winner
Bandari FC – 1st Runners-up
Kariobangi Sharks – 2nd Runners-up

Referee of the Year

Peter Waweru – Winner
Anthony Ogwayo – 1st Runners-up
Davis Omweno – 2nd Runners-up

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More