Home » National » Kenya Names Men’s And Women’s Rugby Sevens Teams to Tokyo Olympics

Kenya Names Men’s And Women’s Rugby Sevens Teams to Tokyo Olympics

by Zablon Ondari
2 mins read

The Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) on Monday, 5th July, named its men’s and women’s rugby sevens squads that will represent the country in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Andrew Amonde, who captains Shujaa, is one of four survivors from the squad that did duty at the Rio Olympics in 2016, where they finished 11th overall. Others who will be returning for their second Olympics appearances are Collins Injera, Billy Odhiambo, and Willy Ambaka.

“The selection was tough as all the boys put in the work. We are happy to have a few experienced players fit and back into the fold. Our key target is getting out of the pool. Our first pool game will set the standard for our performance in Tokyo,” Shujaa’s head coach Innocent Simiyu told KRU’s official website after unveiling the squad.

The men’s rugby sevens competition in Tokyo will run from 26th to 28th July. Shujaa are in Pool C of the 12-team competition alongside South Africa, USA, and Ireland.

Shujaa Olympics squad:

Andrew Amonde (KCB, Captain), Alvin Otieno (Homeboyz), Vincent Onyala (KCB), Herman Humwa (Kenya Harlequin), Collins Injera (Mwamba), Daniel Taabu (Mwamba), Willy Ambaka (Kenya Harlequin), Johnstone Olindi (KCB), Eden Agero (Kenya Harlequin), Jeffrey Oluoch (Homeboyz), Nelson Oyoo (Top Fry Nakuru), Jacob Ojee (KCB), and Billy Odhiambo (Mwamba). Non-travelling reserves are Bush Mwale (Homeboyz), Derrick Keyoga (Menengai Oilers), and Dennis Ombachi (Nondescripts). Management: Innocent Simiyu (head coach), Anthony Muchiri (assistant coach), Lamch Francis (medic), and Erick Ogweno (manager)

Meanwhile, Kenya women’s National Team Head Coach Felix Oloo has also named his 13-strong squad to do duty in the Olympic Sevens competition in Tokyo from 29th to 31st July.

Captain Philadelphia Olando is one of three survivors from the Lionesses squad that played at the Rio Olympics in 2016. The others are Sheila Chajira and Janet Okello.

The Lionesses are drawn against New Zealand, Russia, and Great Britain in Pool A.

“We based our selection criteria on attendance, discipline, medical assessment, player fitness as well as an understanding of the game and positional roles each player has. This is what guided our selection of the final 13 players,” said Oloo.

“We also have a few players who missed out on the selection because they are yet to recover from injuries picked up in previous tournaments.”

Lionesses Olympic Squad:

Philadelphia Olando (Northern Suburbs, Captain), Sheila Chajira (Homeboyz), Stellah Wafula (Impala Saracens), Christabel Lindo (Impala Saracens), Leah Wambui (Homeboyz), Judith Auma (Homeboyz), Vivian Akumu (Top Fry Nakuru), Sarah Oluche (Mwamba), Grace Adhiambo (Top Fry Nakuru), and Cynthia Atieno (Homeboyz), Others are Janet Okello (Mwamba), Sinaida Aura (Northern Suburbs), and Diana Awino (Impala), Non-travelling reserve: Enid Ouma (Homeboyz), Management: Felix Oloo (head coach), Samuel Njogu (strength and conditioning coach), Ben Mahinda (medic), and Camilyne Oyuayo (manager).

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More