Home » Football » Lionel Messi Wins Ballon d’Or For Seventh Time

Lionel Messi Wins Ballon d’Or For Seventh Time

by Zablon Ondari
2 mins read
20211130 082616

Argentina’s forward Lionel Messi won the men’s Ballon d’Or award for a record-stretching seventh time at a ceremony in Paris on Monday night, 29th November.

Messi beat Bayern Munich’s striker Robert Lewandowski and Chelsea midfielder Jorginho to lift soccer’s most prestigious trophy.

The 34-year-old scored 38 goals in 48 games last season for Barcelona and won the Copa del Rey before captaining Argentina to Copa America glory in July.

Messi, who joined Paris St Germain on a free transfer from Barcelona during the close season, collected 613 points. Bayern Munich’s Lewandowski who was named best striker came in second with 580.

Jorginho, who won the Champions League with Chelsea and the European championship with Italy, ended up third on 460, ahead of France’s Karim Benzema and Ngolo Kante in fourth and fifth places respectively. Cristiano Ronaldo came in sixth.

Messi had already won the trophy more times than any other player and his seventh success comes after wins in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019.

Paris St-Germain’s Gianluigi Donnarumma, who helped Italy win Euro 2020, won the Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper ahead of Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy who finished second.

Meanwhile, Chelsea was named club of the year.

The women’s Ballon d’Or went to Alexia Putellas after the Spain midfielder guided Barcelona to Champions League glory.

Putellas is the third winner of the Ballon d’Or Feminin after Ada Hegerberg in 2018 and Megan Rapinoe in 2019.

Last year there was no ceremony due to the coronavirus pandemic which disrupted the sports calendar worldwide.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More