Home » Lifestyle » Health » Ministry Lists 20 Counties at Risk of Ebola Outbreak

Ministry Lists 20 Counties at Risk of Ebola Outbreak

by Zablon Ondari
2 mins read

The Ministry of Health has placed 20 counties on high alert for Ebola virus infection as cases in Uganda surge.

Acting Health Director General Dr Patrick Amoth on Tuesday, 27th September said that the counties of Busia, Nakuru, Kiambu, Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Makueni, Taita taveta, Mombasa, Kwale, and Kericho are at high risk of infection

Bungoma, Siaya, Migori, Homa Bay, Kisumu, Trans Nzoia, West Pokot, Turkana, and Uasin Gishu were also placed on high alert.

Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA), Kisumu, Eldoret, and Mombasa International Airports were singled out as potential risk factors, along with the dense Ugandan population in Nairobi, Kajiado, and Kakuma.

“Owing to these risks, Kenya needs to implement effective measures to prevent the EVD outbreak from spreading into the country including, stepping up surveillance for detection and preparedness for appropriate response,” Amoth noted

“The government is however not planning to close the border but instead the government will heighten surveillance and thorough scrutiny.”

He said that the government has set aside 10 laboratories for Ebola Virus screening in addition to the Alupe Sub County Hospital which has been set up as an Isolation centre in the event of any suspected case.

“The government is working around the clock to ensure that various quarantine centres are set up in preparation to combat the virus,” he said.

According to Uganda’s Ministry of Health 36 people are suspected of contracting the Ebola virus, among which 23 have died.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More