Home » National » Ministry of Health Confirms 61 Cholera Cases in Six Counties

Ministry of Health Confirms 61 Cholera Cases in Six Counties

by Zablon Ondari
2 mins read

The Ministry of Health has confirmed a cholera outbreak in six counties with 61 cases reported.

In a statement issued on Wednesday, 19th October the Director General for Health Patrick Amoth noted that out of the 61 cases 13 are currently hospitalised, eight have been discharged while 40 were treated as outpatients.

Kiambu county leads with 31 patients, Nairobi has 17 and Uasin Gishu has eight cases.

Kajiado and Nakuru counties have confirmed two patients each while Murang’a has one patient.

“The National Public Health Microbiology Laboratory has isolated Vibrio cholera-01-Ogawa as the responsible serotype,” the Ministry said in a statement.

According to the Ministry, surveillance has been enhanced to curb further spread of the disease.

“In response to this, the Division of Disease Surveillance and Response (DDSR), Field Epidemiology and Laboratory Program (FELTP) and the County Departments of Health had been sent to the affected counties to spearhead response activities,” the statement added.

“The team will conduct field investigations, enhanced surveillance, laboratory testing, case management, risk communication, community engagement and environmental sanitation to prevent further spread of the disease and manage the outbreak.”

Cholera is an infectious disease caused by the bacteria Vibrio cholerae. People typically acquire cholera from contaminated water.

Symptoms of cholera may include; sudden onset of diarrhoea, nausea, vomiting, tiredness and mild to severe dehydration.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More