President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed Jamleck Muturi as the new Teachers Service Commission (TSC) chairman.

In a Kenya Gazette notice dated Thursday, 29th April, the Head of State also appointed Alfred Oyucho as a member of the commission’s board.

The two will serve in their new roles for six years each.

Muturi replaces Lydia Nzomo, whose six-year term ended in November 2020.

Nzomo became the first chair of the TSC after it was made a constitutional commission in 2014.

Their appointments come just two days after the National Assembly approved them. The President had nominated Jamleck and Oyucho in March.

Until his appointment, Muturi was the Embu County executive member committee in charge of Education, Science, and Technology.

Read Also:  2020 KCSE Results to be Released Today

Meanwhile, Oyucho is the TSC director for the Legal, Labour, and Industrial Relations Directorate.

Do you have any fascinating, funny, intriguing, troubling or inspiring story that you would wish to share? Please email us at: [email protected] and we will publish it on

Zablon Ondari

I am a journalist, who is passionate about writing articles. This interest carried me through the Kenya Institute of Mass Communication and now I am in the industry and this continues. I have some extensive experience in writing human interest stories, sports and politics. I am self-motivated but a team player. Find out more about me on Facebook, Instagram as Zablon Riro and on Twitter @RiroZablon.